Elgol et ses Alentours

Notre position dans le village d'Elgol est spectaculaire. Vous pourrez vous y détendre pleinement, loin des foules, entouré de paysages et d'une nature époustouflants. Apprêtez-vous à vous déconnecter et à vous ressourcer dans ce qui est, à notre avis, le plus bel endroit au monde. 

Depuis Coruisk House, de nombreux endroits intéressants, que vous pourrez explorer ou où vous pourrez vous détendre tranquillement en profitant de la vue, se trouvent à proximité. Vous trouverez ci-dessous une sélection d'activités et de sites situés à proximité de Coruisk House. Cette liste n'est en aucun cas exhaustive, mais elle inclut certains de nos sites préférés. 

Si vous souhaitez obtenir de l'aide pour planifier votre visite à Skye, nous serons ravis de vous aider à réserver des expériences fantastiques dans toute l'île. Vous pouvez nous envoyer vos questions par courriel à l'adresse info@coruiskhouse.com. 

Notre position dans le village d'Elgol est spectaculaire. Vous pourrez vous y détendre pleinement, loin des foules, entouré de paysages et d'une nature époustouflants. Apprêtez-vous à vous déconnecter et à vous ressourcer dans ce qui est, à notre avis, le plus bel endroit au monde. 

Depuis Coruisk House, de nombreux endroits intéressants, que vous pourrez explorer ou où vous pourrez vous détendre tranquillement en profitant de la vue, se trouvent à proximité. Vous trouverez ci-dessous une sélection d'activités et de sites situés à proximité de Coruisk House. Cette liste n'est en aucun cas exhaustive, mais elle inclut certains de nos sites préférés. 

Si vous souhaitez obtenir de l'aide pour planifier votre visite à Skye, nous serons ravis de vous aider à réserver des expériences fantastiques dans toute l'île. Vous pouvez nous envoyer vos questions par courriel à l'adresse info@coruiskhouse.com. 

Loch Coruisk

Si vous deviez choisir une seule activité à faire à Skye, la visite du Loch Coruisk pourrait bien être l'expérience la plus captivante de notre île. Que ce soit en naviguant sur des eaux pleines de vie en direction des Black Cuillin, ou dans le calme et la grandeur du loch, avec ses crêtes déchiquetées au-dessus de la tête, le Loch Coruisk est un exemple saisissant de Skye. 

Coruisk lui-même est un exemple étonnant de la complexité de l'histoire géologique de Skye. L'eau qui forme le loch remplit une cavité volcanique vieille de 60 millions d'années, creusée et exposée par la dernière période glaciaire qui s'est abattue sur l'île. 

Il est toujours possible de voir et d'escalader les rivières de magma qui s'écoulaient autrefois du volcan. La nature authentique et épique de Skye peut être expérimentée et ressentie ici, comme dans aucun autre endroit de l'île. Si vous le pouvez, vous devez y aller. 

Pour un accès facile au Loch Coruisk, nous vous recommandons de réserver l'une des excursions en bateau mentionnées ci-dessous. 

Pour les randonneurs chevronnés et aventureux, il est possible d'accéder au Loch Coruisk à pied, en partant d'Elgol. La marche est d'environ 16 km et vous emmène le long du rivage de Camasunary Beach jusqu'au célèbre "Bad Step". Ce sentier est le dernier obstacle que vous rencontrerez avant d'accéder au Loch Coruisk. Les randonneurs doivent grimper avec précaution le long d'une fissure étroite formée sur une paroi rocheuse côtière inclinée. En y allant prudemment, vous franchirez cette partie de l'itinéraire avec une relative facilité. Cependant, nous ne recommandons pas cet itinéraire aux personnes qui n'ont pas l'habitude de faire de la randonnée ou qui n'ont pas le vertige.

Si vous ne prévoyez pas de revenir à pied par ce chemin, assurez-vous de réserver votre voyage de retour à Elgol en bateau avant de partir.

Pour plus de détails sur cette randonnée, cliquez ici. click here.

Excursion en Bâteau au Loch Coruisk

La plupart des visiteurs d'Elgol se dirigent vers le port voisin pour monter à bord de l'un de nos bateaux locaux. 

If you are looking to venture across the waves to Loch Coruisk, Misty Isle Boat Trips offer a ferry service from the nearby pier. The MacKinnon Family have been running boat trips from Elgol to Loch Coruisk on the Isle of Skye since 1969 and continue to operate the crossing to this day. You may find it astounding to know that The Mackinnon family have lived in Elgol since the 1300’s, when they were gifted the land by Robert the Bruce.

Si vous cherchez à rencontrer des personnes locales qui ont une connaissance exceptionnelle de notre région, une excursion sur l'île brumeuse avec les MacKinnon est à ne pas manquer. 

Le voyage dure environ 45 minutes et vous pouvez ensuite choisir le temps que vous souhaitez passer sur le loch. Nous vous recommandons d'y passer quelques heures et d'emporter un pique-nique. 

Excursion Découverte En Bateau des Macareux, de la Faune et des Petites Îles de L'île De Skye 

Pour ceux qui souhaitent observer la faune locale, prévoyez une excursion en bateau rapide vers les petites îles environnantes. Aquaexplore vous propose des excursions depuis le port d'Elgol jusqu'à Canna pour observer la population locale de macareux. De nombreuses excursions sont proposées vers les îles éloignées de Rum, Canna, Soay et Skye Cuillin.

Les clients ont la possibilité d'observer une grande variété d'animaux sauvages. Les dauphins, les baleines, les phoques, les macareux, les cerfs sauvages, un aigle de mer et d'innombrables autres oiseaux de mer qui vivent sur les côtes voisines.

Histoire Locale De Skye Et Promenades A Proximité

Elgol est un endroit historique, avec des preuves des générations passées parsemées dans notre paysage. 

Elgol est un endroit historique, avec des preuves des générations passées parsemées dans notre paysage. 

Les vestiges de ces communautés, comme Keppoch, peuvent encore être visités aujourd'hui. L'exploration de ces anciens villages donne un aperçu incroyable de la vie des habitants de la région il y a des centaines d'années.

Pour les visiteurs dont les ancêtres sont originaires de Skye, ces visites peuvent être particulièrement intéressantes et significatives. 

Une visite à l'église de Kilchrist sur la route d'Elgol en vaut la peine. Kilchrist (Christ's Church) est une église en ruine des XVe et XVIe siècles. Elle fut l'église paroissiale de Strathaird pendant plus de 300 ans. Le cimetière est la dernière demeure de nombreux membres du clan MacKinnon, et de nombreux vestiges de la période médiévale y sont encore visibles. 

Une Promenade Détendue Vers Coruisk

Pas besoin de marcher jusqu'au Loch Coruisk pour profiter de quelques-uns des plus beaux panoramas de l'île. Au départ du port pittoresque d'Elgol, la première partie de l'itinéraire menant au Loch Coruisk emprunte un sentier surélevé au-dessus du rivage, offrant des vues incroyables sur la mer, vers les Black Cuillin et les petites îles. 

Il s'agit d'un endroit idéal pour prendre des photos par tous les temps, au lever et au coucher du soleil. 

Pour les photographes amateurs, le charme des Cuillin réside en partie dans leur nature changeante, dans l'ombre et la lumière, le soleil, la brume, le vent et la pluie. 

Une Randonnée Exigeante Jusqu'au Sommet De Bla Bheinn (Blaven)
Bla Bheinn (Blaven)

Pour les randonneurs expérimentés, nous sommes près de l'une des montées les plus spectaculaires du Cuillin.

Au-delà de l'excellente ascension elle-même, les panoramas à 360 degrés du légendaire Black Cuillin et Skye elle-même depuis le sommet de Bla Bheinn font de cette randonnée l'une des plus gratifiantes de tout le Royaume-Uni. 

Le paysage lui-même vaudra largement les 5 à 6 heures d'ascension, et les photos que vous ramènerez à la maison laisseront vos amis bouche bée. 

Même si cette ascension est difficile, nous encourageons les personnes intéressées par l'escalade à relever le défi, car aucun autre sommet n'offre des vues comparables à celles de Bla Bheinn.

A Cosy Island Hideaway...

Our stunning Thatched Stone Cottage is the perfect place to relax in front of a log fire, unwind and switch off.

+(44)1471 866330

info@coruiskhouse.com

elgol and nearby

Our location in the village of Elgol is spectacular. Here, you can fully unwind, away from the crowds, surrounded by stunning landscapes and nature. Get ready to switch off, disconnect, and recharge in what is, in our view, the most beautiful place on earth. 

From Coruisk House, there are many interesting places nearby that you can explore or quietly relax, enjoying the views. Below you’ll find a handful of activities and sites a short distance from us. This list is by no means exhaustive, but includes some of our local favourites. 

If you would like more help planning your visit to Skye, we are more than happy to help you book fantastic experiences across the island. You can email us with any questions at info@coruiskhouse.com. 

Our location in the village of Elgol is spectacular. Here, you can fully unwind, away from the crowds, surrounded by stunning landscapes and nature. Get ready to switch off, disconnect, and recharge in what is, in our view, the most beautiful place on earth. 

From Coruisk House, there are many interesting places nearby that you can explore or quietly relax, enjoying the views. Below you’ll find a handful of activities and sites a short distance from us. This list is by no means exhaustive, but includes some of our local favourites. 

If you would like more help planning your visit to Skye, we are more than happy to help you book fantastic experiences across the island. You can email us with any questions at info@coruiskhouse.com. 

Loch Coruisk

If you could only choose one activity to do on Skye, a visit to Loch Coruisk might be the most enthralling experience on our island. From the sailing across waters – teaming with life – towards the Black Cuillin, to the incredible stillness and grandeur of the loch, with its towering jagged ridges overhead. 

Coruisk itself is a stunning example of Skye’s complex geological history. The water forming the loch fills a 60 million year old lava chamber, carved out and exposed by the last ice age that gripped the island. 

You can still see and climb the once flowing magma rivers that poured from the volcano. Skye’s true and epic nature can be experienced and felt here, like in no other place on our island. If you can, you must go. 

For easy access to Loch Coruisk, we recommend booking on one of the boat trips mentioned below. 

For the more experienced and adventurous hikers, Loch Coruisk can be accessed on foot, setting off from Elgol. The walk is around 10 miles (16 km) and takes you along the shoreline of Camasunary Beach and onwards toward the famous ‘Bad Step’. The Bad Step is the last obstacle you’ll face before accessing Loch Coruisk. Hikers must carefully scramble along a narrow crack formed on a sloping coastal rock face. Going carefully, you will pass through this portion of the route with relative ease. However, we wouldn’t recommend this route to anyone not used to experienced hiking or without a head for heights.

If you don’t plan on walking back this way, be sure to book your return trip to Elgol by boat before setting off.

For more details on this walk, click here.

Boat Trip to Loch Coruisk

Most people who visit Elgol are heading for the nearby harbour to step onboard one of our local boat trips. 

If you are looking to venture across the waves to Loch Coruisk, Misty Isle Boat Trips offer a ferry service from the nearby pier. The MacKinnon Family have been running boat trips from Elgol to Loch Coruisk on the Isle of Skye since 1969 and continue to operate the crossing to this day. You may find it astounding to know that The Mackinnon family have lived in Elgol since the 1300’s, when they were gifted the land by Robert the Bruce.

If you are looking to meet local people with an exceptional knowledge of our area, a trip on the Misty Isle with the MacKinnons should not be missed. 

The trip takes about 45 minutes, and you can then choose how much time you would like to spend at the loch.We recommend spending a few hours and taking a picnic along with you. 

Skye Puffins, Wildlife and Smaller Isles Boat Trip 

For those interested in seeing some of our local wildlife, plan a trip on a fast boat out to the smaller surrounding isles. Aquaexplore offers trips from Elgol harbour to Canna to see the local puffin population. There are a range of trips and excursions on offer to the remote islands of Rum, Canna, Soay & the Skye Cuillin.

Guests will have the opportunity to see a huge variety of wildlife. From dolphins, whales, seals, puffins, wild deer, and a sea eagle, to countless other seabirds that call our nearby shores home.

Local History and Walks Nearby

Elgol is an historic place, with evidence of generations gone by dotted throughout our landscape. 

The story of Skye’s people is one of bravery, passion, and, at times, hardship. Only 150 years ago, the population of the nearby area was cleared from their homeland during an infamous time in our history known as the Highland Clearances. Many of Skye’s people found their way to Australia and America. 

The remnants of these communities, like Keppoch, can still be visited today. Exploring these former villages provides an incredible insight into the lives of the locals living in this area hundreds of years ago.

For visitors, whose ancestors have come from Skye, these visits can be particularly interesting and meaningful. 

A visit to the Church of Kilchrist en route to Elgol is well worth it. Kilchrist (Christ’s Church), is a ruined 15th–16th century church. It served as the parish church for Strathaird for over 300 years. The churchyard is the final resting place of many members of Clan MacKinnon, and a great deal of evidence from the medieval period can still be seen here. 

A Relaxed Walk Towards Coruisk

You don’t have to walk all the way to Loch Coruisk to enjoy some of the best views on the island. From the picturesque Elgol harbour, the first portion of the route to Loch Coruisk takes an elevated path above the shoreline, offering incredible views over the sea towards the Black Cuillin and out to the smaller isles. 

This is a perfect place for photographs in all weather, and at sunrise and sunset. 

For visiting photographers, part of the drama of the Cuillin is their every changing nature in light and shadow, in sun, mist, wind and rain. 

A Challenging Hike to the Summit of
Bla Bheinn (Blaven)

For experienced hikers, we are close to one of the Cuillin’s most dramatic climbs.

Apart from the excellent climb itself, the panoramic 360 degree views of the legendary Black Cuillin and wider Skye from the summit of Bla Bheinn make this hike one of the most rewarding in the whole of the UK. 

The scenery itself, will more than make up for the 5–6 hours of climbing, and the photos you take home will leave your friends in awe. 

Although this is a difficult climb, we encourage those interested in climbing to take on the challenge as no other summit offers views quite like Bla Bheinn.